33.1 C
Tuesday, May 30, 2023

News2News.in Explainer: DK Na-Na became Deputy CM, this post is not constitutional, know its history and powers

History of the post of Deputy Chief Minister in India.

History of the post of Deputy Chief Minister in India.

News2News.in Explainer:The Congress won a landslide victory in the Karnataka Assembly elections. Siddaramaiah will be the next chief minister of Karnataka and DK Shivakumar his deputy. Siddaramaiah, the hero of the Karnataka election victory, and DK Shivakumar were at loggerheads over becoming the Chief Minister for a long time. However, now the Congress high command has announced the names of the Chief Minister and the Deputy Chief Minister. If the Chief Minister is paramount in the state, then why did the tradition of Deputy Chief Minister start? In today’s News2News.in Explainer, we will know how and when the process of making Deputy Chief Minister started and what are the duties of Deputy CM…

Where and when did the tradition of making Deputy Chief Minister started in the state

The post of Deputy Chief Minister is considered very important in the power of the state government. This post was started from Bihar. From a year before independence till 1957, Dr. Anugrah Narayan Sinha became the first Deputy Chief Minister of the country in Bihar. Along with Sinha, the post of Deputy Chief Minister was started in Bihar. The post of Deputy Chief Minister left Bihar and reached Rajasthan in 1951, where Tika Ram Paliwar became the Deputy Chief Minister. After Rajasthan, in Punjab also in 1951, Brish Bhan took over the post of Deputy CM. After this, the post of Deputy Chief Minister also started in Andhra Pradesh, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal and other states.

Constitutional responsibility of Deputy Chief Minister

The post of Deputy Chief Minister is not constitutional. The person appointed to this post does not get constitutional powers like the Chief Minister. The person posted on this post cannot lead the cabinet in the absence of the Chief Minister. Leaders appointed to this post do not get extra allowance or extra salary. Actually this post is not for fulfilling constitutional requirements, but for political appeasement. The ruling party appoints the Deputy Chief Minister keeping in mind the political balance. The Deputy Chief Minister also takes oath like other ministers of the cabinet. This is the reason why there has been no post of Deputy Chief Minister in many governments.

Which state has how many deputy chief ministers

Andhra Pradesh has the maximum number of Deputy Chief Ministers across the country. Andhra Pradesh has a total of five Deputy Chief Ministers including Alanani, Azmat Pasha Sheikh, K Narayana Swamy, Pilli Subhash Chandra Bose, Pushpashervani Pamula. Arunachal Pradesh, Bihar, Gujarat, Haryana, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu and Tripura have one Deputy Chief Minister each. Uttar Pradesh and Goa have two Deputy Chief Ministers each.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

− 1 = 1

Latest Articles