IND vs ENG, 1st Test: Joe Root got life, umpire’s mistake or technical glitch? Questions raised on DRS

news2news

IND vs ENG, 1st Test: Joe Root got life, umpire’s mistake or technical glitch?  Questions raised on DRS

New Delhi. As expected, the 5 Test series between India and England started with a bang in Hyderabad. England’s openers started like baseball cricket, then the Indian spin bowlers counterattacked. Within 150 runs, 6 England batsmen returned to the pavilion. But, Joe Root survived. He got life support. Now it is being debated whether Root was saved by the umpire’s mistake or he got the benefit due to a technical glitch. Let us understand.

After Ollie Pope, Joe Root tried to play a paddle sweep on the next ball of Ravindra Jadeja. But, the ball came out fast and hit the pad. Jadeja was fully confident that Root was in front of the wicket. He convinced captain Rohit Sharma and wicketkeeper KS Bharat to take DRS as both of them were not ready for DRS. This is where the whole game started.

Root got life support
All the players had their eyes on the mega screen installed in the stadium. But, ball tracking was not visible for a long time. When ball tracking finally arrived, Ultra Edge saw a spike. But the problem was that the spike started appearing even before the ball reached near Root’s bat.

Controversy over Route’s DRS
When the ball went close to Root’s bat, everyone’s curiosity increased and when the ball hit his pad, the spike in the ultra edge was the highest. When seen with the naked eye, it appeared as if there was a gap between Root’s bat and the ball. But when the ball passed near the bat, a slight deflection was also seen. After a long time the third umpire gave the decision of not out. He felt that the ball had hit Root’s bat before hitting the pads. However, Ravi Shastri did not feel so. He expressed surprise at the umpire’s decision during the commentary.

Root was out in Shastri’s view
Shastri said that Root was lucky to survive. In my view he was out because the spike was visible even before the ball reached the bat. This means the ball did not hit the bat. After this, debate on this has started on social media also. Some users are also raising questions on the late decision of the umpire. Some asked whether there was a technical glitch or the umpire’s mistake.

Meanwhile, till the time of writing the news, the England team has lost 7 wickets in the first innings. Jonny Bairstow scored the maximum 37 runs for England. R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja and Axar Patel have taken 2-2 wickets for India.


Leave a Comment