DUSU election update: Candidates declared for important posts

DUSU election update: Candidates declared for important posts

The two big student union groups All India Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) and National Student Union of India (NSUI) have declared their respective panels for the Delhi University Students Union elections. Interestingly, Both organizations have women candidates in important positions.

Elections for president, Vice President, Secretary and Joint Secretary for DUSU are to be held on September 12.

While the fight in the DU Campus is mainly between student wings affiliated to RSS and Congress, ie ABVP and NSUI, the left ideology student group AISA has also announced it's candidates. However, CYSS, the student group of the Aam Admi Party has refrained from elections this time.

Panel of All India Students Council (ABVP)

President: Ankshit Dahiya, Vice President: Pradeep Tanwar, Secretary: Yogit Rathi, Joint Secretary: Shivangi Kharwal

The selected candidates from ABVP, in a statement, issued jointly, said, "Trustworthiness, accountability, and accessibility would be the building blocks of the next ABVP-led DUSU. We have an intense desire to see one of our own university student, representing our country in the 2024 Olympics. The forthcoming DUSU will thoroughly apply itself to see that vision manifest into reality. We will endeavour to institute inclusive activism and making campuses safer for women. We would also be focussing on broad, but consequential issues like clean and eco-friendly campuses".

Panel of National Students Organization of India (NSUI)

President: Chetna Tyagi, Vice President: Ankit Bharti, Secretary: Ashish Lamba, Joint Secretary: Abhishek Chaparana.

In her statement, NSUI in-charge Ruchi Gupta said, "We are also proud to note that a woman candidate has been named Presidential candidate for the first time by either ABVP or NSUI since 2011."

She added, "The NSUI is committed to equal educational opportunity for all Indian youth. Our DUSU panel is reflective too of our commitment to women empowerment, social justice and equal opportunity across class and caste."

Panel of All India Students' Association

President: Damini Kain, Vice President: Aftab, Secretary: Vikash, Joint Secretary: Chetna.

AISA Delhi President, Kawalpreet Kaur said, "We are getting huge support from the students in this DUSU elections. Our consistent movement for affordable transportation which ensured AC Bus passes has gathered massive support from the students of DU. The first task that AISA union will ensure after coming to power is that DU students be given metro concessional passes."